Breakfast Protein Smoothie

I love smoothies. They are my go-to on-the-go breakfast. They’re so super versatile and easy to make. Best of all, they leave me full and not needing to snack until lunch time – I am a notorious snacker. The secret? Protein and fibre. Click on through for one of my favourite recipes.

Let me start by saying, blenders are important. I have gone through many a personal blenders in the last 7 years (this one time I blew out the bottom of the cup and flooded the motor with a blueberry smoothie…), and I have to say that NINJA blenders are my personal favourite. I got mine on sale from Walmart as a gift, and this thing can chew through anything. I used to have trouble with my old blenders to get through ice, but not with this baby.

You’ll have to forgive the quality of the photography – apparently nothing photographs well at 5:00 am. Your ingredients are simple: you need at least a liquid and some frozen fruit. That’s it. I also usually like to add some Greek yogurt for some creaminess, some chia seeds for fibre and texture, and a scoop of vanilla protein powder to help supplement my diet (I am so guilty of not getting enough protein). Spinach is also a favourite of mine – it’s packed full of nutrients, but is mild enough that it doesn’t overwhelm the smoothie and make it bitter.

SEE? NOTHING NICE AT 5:00 AM. Combine everything into your blendable cup. Today’s breakfast features 1 and 1/4 cup of orange juice, 2 tablespoons of chia, 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder, and the rest of the cup was filled with a tropical blend of frozen fruits – hello peaches, mangoes, and strawberries. Lock the blade into the cup and give it a little shake to help distribute some of the liquid. Pulse on the blender until smooth.

Smooth and delicious and nutritious and ready for action. Pour into your favourite on-the-go cup and get a proper breakfast into you!


RECIPE

Breakfast Protein Smoothie

Serves: 1

Cook time: ~5 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1/2-3/4 cup frozen fruit (tropical mix)
  • Optional: 2 tbsp Greek yogurt

Directions

  1. Combine ingredients into blender.
  2. Pulse blender until ingredients are smooth and combined.
  3. Pour and serve. 🙂

Don’t forget to subscribe to email updates [Follow us via email] on the right-hand side.

Check out our tweets here

Like us on Facebook

Pin your favourite recipes from here

..and follow our picture story on Instagram

🙂

Leave a Reply

