Iced Tea “Pink Drink”

29144006211_315768cc3c_b

Let’s talk Starbucks. I do love me a tasty Starbucks beverage every once in a while (okay, so, I may or may not have a gold card that is currently good through 2018, that’s how much…). A few weeks ago, this secret menu item made the internet explode, so I figured I needed to get on the band wagon and try this thing out. It’s a Strawberry Acaí Refresher (or Very Berry Hibiscus, if you’re in Canada) with the water subbed for coconut milk. AND HOLY SMOKES IS IT GOOD. But being that some days I don’t feel like splurging for my fix, I decided to experiment at home a little, and I actually came up with a few delicious combinations. Click on through for this SUPER SIMPLE, delicious summer drink!

29101546812_b3df2eb486_b

So this particular version is pretty straight forward – iced tea, a milk of your choice, some lemon, sugar, and vanilla. Today I used a maté tea from David’s Tea, iced – I needed the caffeine, but herbal tea would also be EXCELLENT here. I honestly can’t remember which tea I used, as I made it prior to this recipe and threw the bag out like a tool. BUT I would highly recommend a hibiscus based tea, if you can get one – it makes the drink a gorgeous pink, and is generally tart and delicious.

28589063313_57fd4950fb_b

I made this as a single serving, but it would scale up easily. Start with 3 parts iced tea.

28589042433_667528dec9_b

Add 1 to 1.5 parts milk of your choice. Today I used almond, because it was what I had on hand. Coconut milk, as used in the original Starbucks drink, would add a really yummy touch of sweetness to the drink.

29130935551_d538c86290_b

To give it the eponymous pink colour, I added frozen strawberries, raspberries, and mango, and stirred it up reaaaaally well. The red from the berries seeps into the tea, and turns it that lovely shade of pink. At this point, to your liking, you can add sugar, lemon, and vanilla.

28589063213_d5999b5a1f_b

Get yourself a straw and go enjoy the last bit of summer! Enjoy!


RECIPE
Iced Tea “Pink Drink”

Serves: 1

Ingredients

  • Iced tea, maté or herbal
  • Milk of your choice
  • Vanilla
  • Sugar
  • Lemon juice
  • Mixed frozen fruit of your choice

Directions

  1. Combine 3 parts tea with 1 to 1.5 parts milk.
  2. Add sugar, lemon, and vanilla to taste.
  3. Garnish with mixed frozen fruit.

Don’t forget to subscribe to email updates [follow us via email] on the right-hand side.

Check out our tweets here

Like us on Facebook

Pin your favourite recipes from here

..and follow our picture story on Instagram

:) Check out our SnapChat!! >> foodandadulting


This post is part of the monthly link up party Our Growing Edge. This event aims to connect food bloggers and inspire us to try new things.

Leave a Reply

