Lunch Wraps

28768411893_dcf9245d8b_b

Meal prepping and lunch wraps!

Talk about a busy couple of weeks.

I got MARRIED!! Yup, that’s right! J got married, and T was right there helping me down the aisle [and to pee, but that’s a different story]. Now it’s time to get back to reality and that means meal prep!

I thought I would share my lunch meal prep tips and one of my favourite lunch wraps!

Meal prepping is great if you are not a morning person [J] or you start work really early [T] or just are incredibly lazy [everyone]. It’s a great way to ensure you have enough food, but also you don’t have too much and therefore waste [which basically means throwing out money].

Generally speaking, when it comes to meal prep I like to have a balance of lunch, breakfast and dinners planned out. My favourite type of lunches are leftovers from the night before. Sometimes though, I just know we’re going to have a busy week after work, or the food I’m craving is just not conducive to leftover [tacos ❤ ]. For when those weeks come, I do like to prepare lunches so I’m not stuck spending money on the cafeteria pizza [but also the za = life].

ALSO, I hate eating the same thing everyday. So when I am meal prepping for the whole week I make two different choices for lunches.

My favourites are wraps with shredded chicken, avocado, spinach and Ceaser dressing and these wraps pictured at the top!

29293331581_d8515da528_b

Mmmhmm… contents are as follows: spicy ‘Jambalaya’ rice, crunchy red peppers, fried sweet potatoes and a bit of chipotle mayo. Sometimes if chicken is on sale, I’ll add shredded chicken too, or pan fry pork chops and cut them into thin strips.

29293330071_66a02802b3_b

Firstly, cook your rice and prep all your veggies. I slice the red peppers and keep them raw for crunch. As for the sweet potatoes – I slice and fry in minced garlic, salt and pepper. But also, check out T’s great recipe here: Sweet Potato Chunks

28750695543_c7065ef6c8_b

Next comes the assembly. Line it up and get it going. 🙂 I wrap it in tin foil and store in the fridge. I usually only make half a weeks worth at a time because a) I switch wrap/lunch option half way through and b) no one likes a soggy wrap.

Note: I leave the chipotle mayo out because my husband [phew that’s a weird thought] does’t like sauces, so I just add it to my wrap while eating it.

Okay, and some people may be fine, but just in case. Here’s the best way to roll your wrap!

z5re2ioefn25w

Enjoy 🙂


Don’t forget to subscribe to email updates [follow us via email] on the right-hand side.

Check out our tweets here

Like us on Facebook

Pin your favourite recipes from here

..and follow our picture story on Instagram

:) 

Check out our SnapChat!! >> foodandadulting

Leave a Reply

