Recipe Review: Garlic Beef and Veggie Ramen

33584093452_eb70d9bcee_o

Well, I just kept seeing this recipe floating around Facebook and Pinterest and had to give it a shot!

Let me tell you, it was AMAZING. My husband even said it was better than my Beef, Broccoli & Mushroom Stir-Fry. I don’t know if I believe that, maybe it’s because it has noodles and he’s noodle-deprived as he’s trying to eat healthier.

ANYWAYS. Try it for yourself and let me know your thoughts!

Here is the original recipe! http://www.chelseasmessyapron.com/garlic-beef-and-veggie-ramen/

And obviously I made minor changes and dissolved a few steps to make it easier. I have re-written it below with my changes 🙂

I used stew beef thinly sliced instead of steak because I’m not made of money.
I used garlic cloves minced, so I wrote the clove amounts below versus teaspoons.
I used chow mein noodles instead of needing to buy ramen packages. I bought this one from the local grocery store:  https://assets.shop.loblaws.ca/products/20136667/b1/en/front/20136667_front_a04.png

It’s the same noodles I use for my Teriyaki Chicken Lettuce Wraps with Crispy Noodles so you should make that one too 😉

 

33699793366_79b8c2c0b5_o

Please enjoy and check out her original recipe! It was fantastic and will be joining the regularly made meal list! 🙂


RECIPE
Garlic Beef and Veggie Ramen

Ingredients:

Meat:

  • 1lb stew beef sliced thinly or 1lb flank steak sliced thinly
  • Olive oil to fry

Marinade for Meat – for roughly 20-30 minutes:

  • ¼ cup soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp hoisin sauce
  • 1-2 cloves minced garlic (depending on size, I had HUGE ones, so I only used one 🙂 )
  • 1 tsp cornstarch

Veggies:

  • 8 oz (227 g pack) button mushrooms roughly chopped
  • 8 oz (or 200 g pack) snap peas
  • 1 cup shredded carrot (I used one large carrot so it ended up being slightly less than a cup)
  • 1 red bell pepper roughly diced
  • 1-2 cloves minced garlic
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • Red Pepper flakes if desired
  • Olive oil to fry

Noodles:

  • Chow Mein Noodles (I used 3 “nests”) original recipe says to use 2 ramen noodle packages

Sauce:

  • 2 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1/3 cup + 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 cup beef broth/stock
  • 1 tbsp minced ginger (I used slightly less because Brennan isn’t a fan)
  • About ¼ brown sugar (really this is to taste)
  • 1 tsp cornstarch

Directions:

  1. You will need one big frying pan and one pot of boiling water for the noodles, basically everything is done in the same frying pan in stages.
  2. Slice and marinate meat in bowl on counter.
  3. Chop veggies and fry in olive oil with garlic and salt and pepper. Remove veggies when done and move to big bowl.
  4. Cook Meat until done, place in same bowl as veggies.
  5. Boil water and cook noodles (2-3 minutes, until done, not mushy)
  6. Pour sauce into frying pan, bring to low rolling boil. Keep an eye on it so it doesn’t burn. Once thickened slightly, add meat and veg back in and stir to coat.
  7. Fold in cooked noodles and enjoy!

Don’t forget to subscribe to email updates [follow us via email] on the right-hand side.

Check out our tweets here

Like us on Facebook

Pin your favourite recipes from here

..and follow our picture story on Instagram

:) 

Check out our SnapChat!! >> foodandadulting

Leave a Reply

