Chocolate Chip Cookies – REVIEW

34042255832_30d566233d_h

Sooooooo unless you’ve got more background and/or time than I do, you’re probably with me when I say that baking tends to be one of those things that I defer to the experts for. Baking is different from cooking in that there are mistakes that you just can’t fix, because by the time you know what went wrong, it’s already too late. So when I wanted soft, cafe-style cookies, I took to Pinterest to find the best dang chocolate chip cookie recipe I could find.

Enter Host The Toast. Thank you for your beautiful cookie recipe. Click on through for my take!

33801762450_fc954c15e3_h

This recipe was SO easy, and while I haven’t been able to get the EXACT same cookies as Host The Toast, I’m not even sorry. THEY ARE SO GOOD. I started by creaming the melted butter and sugars together.

33343501444_2b0db7fc03_h

Next was the eggs and the vanilla. I strayed a little from the recipe and added 3 tablespoons of vanilla extract instead of two. Trust and believe.

33801761560_032c5213d8_h

Next comes the flour, added little by little. It incorporates better this way, and keeps you from overworking the cookie dough.

33343500924_3f81d5b026_h

LOOK AT HOW CREAMY AND BEAUTIFUL THIS IS.

33801760630_1167aa15f4_h

I have made this recipe with dark chocolate chips and/or milk chocolate chips, and they are all good. The recipe calls for 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips, but if I’m being honest, I totally eyeballed it until my heart told me it was enough chocolate chips. And there were a lot.

33343500584_9dd9b9c44e_h

I let the dough chill for a minimum of thirty minutes. The second time I made them, the dough actually took a lot longer to chill – you’ll know from the texture if they need more time.

34145263786_d6b9e2f47f_h

The cookie dough ball size was probably the trickiest part of this whole thing. The recipe said 1/4 cup per cookie, but that felt like a LOT. Mine were generally golf ball sized or slightly larger.

33801759790_b60645b4f1_h

The cookies took a little longer to cook than I expected, but I also suspect that my oven runs a little cool. Either way, I baked mine for about 8 minutes, turned the tray, and then for another 8 minutes. Once they were finished, I let them set on the tray for about 3-5 minutes before moving them to a wire rack to cool.

Be forewarned: these won’t last long.


Don’t forget to subscribe to email updates [follow us via email] on the right-hand side.

Check out our tweets here

Like us on Facebook

Pin your favourite recipes from here

..and follow our picture story on Instagram

:) 

Check out our SnapChat!! >> foodandadulting

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Cookies – REVIEW

Leave a Reply

