Asian Beef Stirfry

34744144275_9140db4dc8_b

I’ve got to admit, I’m not always the most faithful meal prepper. Despite having the best intentions, I really struggle to a) get food prepped ahead of time (especially when my bed and my PJs are calling my name…) and b) to eat the same thing all week long. BUT with a busy schedule like mine, I have to find time to get it done. This is a quick, satisfying meal that I cooked in less than 30 minutes (save for the marinade!). Click through to read more!

33934891973_320d200640_b

Start by slicing and marinading your beef. I used stewing beef (that was on sale for 30% off because it was coming up on code, my bank account was THRILLED),  but you can use any cut you have on hand. I used the sauce recipe from our Cabbage and Ground Beef Stirfry to marinade by beef for about an hour – I doubled the recipe, but in hindsight I may have added even more (you can reduce the sesame oil if you double or triple the recipe). The extra liquid will not go to waste!

33934891653_6dd0f65fc6_b

Once the beef has marinaded, sautee it in a hot pan with 2 tablespoons of oil of your choice. Don’t drain off the liquid if you can help it!

33934890613_657bdccf48_b

You know those little bags of coleslaw mix? You know the ones. $2.00 for a big ol’ bag full of shredded green and purple cabbage and carrot? Yeah that’s the one. I used 2 cups, but you can feel free to add more or less. Toss the mix into the beef.

33934890153_a8517aece2_b

Add 1/2 – 1 cup of unsalted roasted almonds and stir to combine. I suggest garnishing the dish with green onions to taste, but you can also add them at this step (I love the flavour!)

34359275310_711beab574_b

Remember how I said that the liquid from the marinate won’t go to waste? Yeah, I wasn’t lying. Remove the beef and cabbage mixture from the pan and leave the liquid behind. We’re going to use this liquid to toss our starch in for more flavour!

33934888463_f1f045ac90_b

I used rice noodles for this dish, but rice would also go swimmingly. Use whichever starch you feel you’re craving the most. Both options are delicious.

33934887443_f0babb0f36_b

Portion out your starch and dress it with your stirfry over top. ENJOY.


RECIPE
Asian Beef Stirfry

Ingredients

  • Beef
  • Cabbage and Ground Beef Stirfry sauce for marinade
  • 2 tablespoons of oil
  • 2 cups coleslaw mix
  • 1/2 – 1 cup unsalted roasted almonds
  • 1/4 cup sliced green onion
  • Starch (rice noodles or rice)

Directions

  1. Slice and marinade beef. I suggest marinading for at least an hour, but I have done it in 15 minutes before!
  2. Sautee the beef in 2 tablespoons of oil in a hot pan. Do not drain off marinade. Cook through.
  3. Add 2 cups of coleslaw mix into the beef. Stir until combined.
  4. Add 1/2 – 1 cup of unsalted roasted almonds. Stir until combined.
  5. Add 1/4 cup of sliced green onions. Stir until combined.
  6. Drain the mixture from the pan, and leave the liquid in the pan. Combine your starch of choice with the liquid for extra flavour.
  7. Serve the stirfry mix hot over your starch.
  8. ENJOY! 🙂

Don’t forget to subscribe to email updates [follow us via email] on the right-hand side.

Check out our tweets here

Like us on Facebook

Pin your favourite recipes from here

..and follow our picture story on Instagram

:) 

Leave a Reply

